Untitled 1

Binghamton Hockey.net

Dusters Whalers Rangers Icemen Senators Devils Black Bears
Next 5 Games
1/22 vs. Danbury
1/27 vs. Danbury
1/28 vs. Delaware
1/29 @ Delaware
2/2 @ Watertown
Next Game
7:00 PM
Danbury @ Binghamton
Last Game: Win vs. Delaware, 8-5
Bears Stats
Player G A PTS
Ivashkin 34 23 57
Newberg 15 27 42
Gjurich 17 16 33
Powell 5 21 26
New Years
Black Bears
Main Page
General Info
Main Page
Devs vs. AHL
General Info
Main Page
Sens vs AHL
Sens Pics
BC Icemen
Main Page
Icemen News
BC vs. UHL
General Info
Main Page
Rangers News
Rags vs. AHL
Main Page
Whal vs. AHL
General Info
Main Page
Dust vs. AHL
General Info
Top 10
Cup Lists
Gen. Info
Sport of Hockey
Hockey Talk
The Leagues
Contact Us
Booster Club






Hockey DB

The Leagues
Binghamton's five hockey clubs have been apart of three different hockey leagues over the last 31 years. The elite minor league for small hockey towns is the American Hockey League, which Binghamton has been apart of for 22 years and will enter its 23rd year this season as the Binghamton Senators embark on their 3rd season. Binghamton teams have also played in the North American Hockey League & the United Hockey League. Below is a look at the leagues that Binghamton is and has competed in.

North American Hockey League (1973 - 1977)
Binghamton "Broome" Dusters - 4 years - 1973-1977

The North American Hockey League's short lived four seasons helped to create the most notorious hockey movie, Slap Shot, and was the beginning for professional hockey in Binghamton, New York. The NAHL was created in part by Binghamton Hall of Famer, Jim Matthews, who was also the Owner/President of the Dusters. The NAHL was originally apart of the Eastern Hockey League until the EHL split in 1973. The Binghamton "Broome" Dusters played in the league for all four seasons and played against the famous "Hanson" Brothers. To quickly explain the actual story behind the Slap Shot Hanson's: Jeff, Steve, and Jack Carlson played together on the Johnstown Jets, on the same line. Dave Hanson also played on the Jets, and the four shared a house together for a time. When it came time to cast the movie, Jack was off playing in the World Hockey Association, so Hanson got the part playing Jack. And all three movie "brothers" took the name of Hanson. Jeff Carlson plays Jeff Hanson, Steve Carlson plays Steve Hanson, and Dave Hanson plays Jack Hanson. The Dusters made it to the Lockhart finals in 74/75 but lost to the Johnstown Jets in a sweep by the Jets and the "Hanson's".


United Hockey League (1991 - Present)
BC Icemen - 5 years - 1997-2002

The United Hockey League is a professional AA-level minor hockey league in the United States. It was established in 1991 as the Colonial Hockey League and renamed to the United Hockey League in 1997. The BC Icemen joined the league in 1997 and played five seasons though not winning the Colonial Cup. The BC Icemen won two division titles while playing in the UHL in the 98/99 and 99/00 seasons. The Colonial Cup is awarded to the team which wins United Hockey League playoffs.

Colonial Cup Winners: 2004 - Muskegon Fury, 2003 - Fort Wayne Komets, 2002 - Muskegon Fury, 2001 - Quad City Mallards, 2000 - Flint Generals, 1999 - Muskegon Fury, 1998 - Quad City Mallards, 1997 - Quad City Mallards, 1996 - Flint Generals, 1995 - Thunder Bay Senators, 1994 - Thunder Bay Senators, 1993 - Brantford Smoke, 1992 - Thunder Bay Thunder Hawks

United Hockey League Website - http://www.theuhl.com


American Hockey League (1936-Present)
Binghamton "Broome" Dusters - 3 years - 1977-1980
Binghamton Whalers - 10 years - 1980-1990
Binghamton Rangers - 7 years - 1990-1997
Binghamton Senators - 15 years - 2002-2017
Binghamton Devils - 4 Years - 2017-2021

The American Hockey League is the only AAA-level professional hockey league in the United States. Founded in 1936, the AHL has been one of the top affiliation leagues for the National Hockey League for 68 years. After accepting six of the now defunct International Hockey League teams as members, the AHL has 28 teams with the 29th joining in the 2005-2006 season. The Binghamton "Broome" Dusters were the first Binghamton team in the league when they joined in the 77/78 season. The Binghamton Whalers played ten seasons in the AHL and made the Calder Cup finals only once in the 81/82, the only Binghamton team to make it to the Calder Cup finals where they were defeated by Brunswick four games to one. The Binghamton Rangers won four division titles in the seven years they played in the American Hockey League. The Binghamton Senators added one more division title in their first season in the AHL though being knocked out of the playoffs in the semi-finals. The Calder Cup is awarded to the team which wins the American Hockey League playoffs. The Calder Cup is named after Frank Calder, the National Hockey Leagues first president. Calder was instrumental in the formation of the AHL in the mid 30's and served as the NHL's president until February 1943.

Calder Cup winners:
2004 - Milwaukee Admirals, 2003 - Houston Aeros, 2002 - Chicago Wolves, 2001 - Saint John Flames, 2000 - Hartford Wolf Pack, 1999 - Providence Bruins, 1998 - Philadelphia Phantoms, 1997 - Hershey Bears, 1996 - Rochester Americans, 1995 - Albany River Rats, 1994 - Portland Pirates, 1993 - Cape Breton Oilers, 1992 - Adirondack Red Wings, 1991 - Springfield Indians, 1990 - Springfield Indians...more Calder Cup winners

American Hockey League Website - http://www.theahl.com

Copyright Binghamton Hockey

Copyright Binghamton Hockey.net 2003 - 2021. All team logos & images are the property of the respective owners.

Binghamton Hockey.net
Archiving Binghamton Hockey History since 2003
Thank you for visting!
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us